Slow-cooker Classic Beef Stew

Last year I made Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguignon from Mastering The Art Of French Cookinghttps://www.facebook.com/jacquvalencia/posts/pfbid02eP8rjbfxPuuR7aXQwbExZNea9kkB4yva25ui6ovhc6tJNHdtTYAwiReD4iY2gKugl I made it in the Dutch oven.

Today I wanted another crockpot recipe and after an early run, dumped a bunch of things into the crockpot via this recipe: https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/slow-cooker-classic-beef-stew

I substituted the pearl onions with shallots (I have a bunch I got on sale that needed using and I am not a big fan of pearl onions – like little onions with no heart, unless caramelized), and my own beef broth which was GF pre-thickened, instead of the thickening that is required here with flour. Instead of the very expensive chuck roast, I used a sirloin roast.

Did two batches as instructed.

Mushrooms pan fried and ready to be added after.

Photo taken mid time. The bouquet garni drowning in broth. I almost couldn’t fit it all in. Don’t really feel like I need a bigger crockpot though!

And voila! Beef stew which cooked while I took my kid and dog for walks and worked. Made the house smell nice and I think this is main reason I enjoy crockpot/slow-cooking. Coming home to home cooked meals instead of rushing (seeking out ingredients and preparing them), is so calming and comforting. A rich meal served with a warmed brioche bun.

Leave a comment