Heirloom Tomato Galette With Dill And Cashew Cream

Galettes! Pies! Tarts! Quiches! In my tummy now!

When it comes to dinner pastries, I love a vegan or vegetarian version. You can play around more with herbs and the fillings way more than you can with meats. Meats usually fill you up too fast and you don’t have a patience with your flavours as you do with vegatables.

I used Katharina Boden’s recipe for Heirloom tomato galette with Dill Cashew Cream. https://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-recipe/heirloom-tomato-galette-with-dill-cashew-cream/

I love dill so much and I need to find more dishes to use it in. However, I didn’t used it in the cream, but rather better as a garnish here.

Cashew cream is so easy to make. Soak a cup of cashews in water for 30 minutes and then blend. It’s a great and light substitute for ricotta cheese in dishes and can add creaminess to soups and dressings.

I did not have rice flour so I used a gluten free mix with the chickpea flour. If you’re not used to working with chickpea flour, it isn’t like a regular one. You have to work with it quickly and balance your water to flour ratio right to get the consistency you want. Recipes don’t always specify this. Thus, it took me a while to get the ball of dough I wanted for the galette. Instead of salt, I used garlic salt for the seasoning.

I also didn’t have basil at hand. I used the left over yun choy I had from yesterday. And that pretty heirloom tomato was bright and ready to fit in.

I put it in for 40 minutes at 400F as instructed, but broiled it for the last 3 minutes. Added some capers since the combination of dill and capers sets fireworks to my brain.

Admittedly, I didn’t think my version would work, mostly because the chickpea dough wasn’t what I was used to in working with crusts, but hey, I think it came out pretty. Also, pretty tasty!

One thought on “Heirloom Tomato Galette With Dill And Cashew Cream

  1. Great blog post! I completely agree with you on how vegan or vegetarian versions of dinner pastries offer more opportunities to experiment with flavors. Your recipe for Heirloom tomato galette with Dill Cashew Cream looks delicious. I am planning to try it out soon. Since you mentioned in your post that chickpea flour needs to be balanced with water to get the right consistency, I was wondering how much water would be needed for one cup of chickpea flour?
    Elizabeth James

    Like

Leave a comment